Saint‑Jean Chapel

Saint‑Jean Chapel

This chapel on the coastal path is a place of worship for the sailors of Tréboul for the annual Pardon (on the closest Sunday to Saint-Jean) and the blessing of the sea. In times gone by, whenever men were heading out on a long fishing ship, they would call out from the bay in front of the beach.

The chapel was rebuilt in 1746 as the structure we see today, but using stone from an earlier building. Tréboul became a parish in its own right in 1840 so the chapel was extended in 1847 and 1848 to include two additional aisles, but these were demolished in the late 1800s: the foundations can still be seen from the outside. The spire dating from 1642 and the stone cross are classed as Historic Monuments.

The stepped, stone cross monument and Saint John the Baptist

The stepped, stone cross monument dated 1699 is the work of the Doré workshop. It shows a statue of the Virgin and a skull-and-crossbones symbol. The Kersanton cross hasn’t stood here since 1850. The altar dates from the 1700s and is decorated with two adoring angels in multi-coloured wood. The reliquary of Saint John the Baptist is a multi-coloured wood sculpture from the 1500s, showing the Saint after his execution, his head presented on a platter. This sculpture is classed as an Historic Monument.

The contemporary stained glass panels are the work of Douarnenez artist René Quéré (painter) and a master-glassmaker from Quimper, Jean-Pierre Le Bihan; they were created between 1986 and 1988. Seven panels represent sites in and around Douarnenez (Tréboul port, the baptism of Saint John the Baptist as shown in the Port Rhu), and scenes of local life (the Sainte-Anne-la-Palud Pardon, the harvest, festivals and Breton games such as the Breton wrestling known as gouren).

Discover other

churches & chapels